All Kumi District Incumbents Lose as Former Education Minister, Jessica Alupo Bounces Back

At least six MPs from the ruling National Resistance Movement (NRM) party have lost bids to retain the party flag in the next general election across Teso sub-region.


The most hit were in Kumi district where all the NRM flag bearers in the last election have lost to the new faces. They include Kumi Woman MP, Monica Amoding who lost to Christine Apolot, the current district chairperson.

In Kumi Municipality, the former Teso Affairs minister, Christine Amongin Aporu has bounced back after trouncing four male candidates including the mayor, Mahmood Oonyu.

Simon Peter Opolot led in Kanyum County, leaving the incumbent, Ismael Orot in the third position while Kumi’s County, Charles Ilukor came second to Esidonia Opolot Okaasai.
In Ngora County, David Abala lost the flag to Juliet Achayo Lodou, a new entrant and the only lady in the race among four men while Serere County MP, Patrick Okabe has been beaten by Phillip Oucor. In Amuria, former Woman MP, Rhoda Acen has bounced back after beating Susan Amero, the incumbent MP.

Former Education minister, Jessica Alupo Epel beat the incumbent, Violet Akurut Adome with 38,582 votes against 29,435. Others in the same race were Anuken Angella who polled 84 votes and Apuno Claire who polled 13,760.

The only MPs who have retained NRM flags in Teso include Hellen Adoa, the Serere Woman MP who sailed unopposed, Jacqueline Amongin of Ngora district, ministers Jeje Odongo, Musa Ecweru and Peter Ogwang for Orungo, Amuria County and the newly created Ngariam County in Katakwi respectively. The others are John Bosco Ikojo of Bukedea County and Patrick Opolot Isiagi of Kacumbala County.

The Kalaki Woman seat was taken by Janifer Ayoo with 13,080 against the incumbent Maria Goretti Elogu who got 10,526 votes. Elogu had shifted her political base from Kaberamaido to represent Kalaki district.

Show More

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button